Remission and Invitation

During my annual physical last week, my doctor asked me how I was doing with my depression. I said, “Doc, I gotta tell you, its been about 2 years since my last depressive episode. The longest I had gone before this was 2-3 months.” So he wrote down “DEPRESSION IN REMISSION” in my file.

 

Wow.

Remission.

I started thinking about this blog and what a comfort it has been to have an outlet for my thoughts. It most assuredly contributed to my remission. However, I do not want it to go away. My own efforts going forward will focus on educating the general public about depression and those that suffer from it. I will take on the stigma associated with depression in society and tell the story of survival and strength. Your survival and strength.

 

I want your stories told. I have told mine already. I would like to invite anyone who would like to tell his/her story on an established blog (audience!!) to join this blog as a contributing author. If you are interested, please let me know.

 

The only way for society to change it’s perception is to put the truth in their faces over and over.

 

You are strong. Keep Walking Forward!!!

 

~Drew

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in C-PTSD, depression, NPD: Narcissitic Personality Disorder, ptsd and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remission and Invitation

  1. I just have to say that I am SO glad you started this blog so long ago. When I first came across it, I too was depressed and found a lot of comfort in reading your poems. I related to them so much and I felt a great deal of relief knowing that I was not the only one fighting depression. It was because of your blog that I started my own. Now, two years later, I am also in “remission”. Thank you so much for sharing your poems and thoughts on here. It has helped me a great deal.

  2. S.S. says:

    Drew, I am seriously struggling with depression and having the symptoms come back these days. I consider it a blessing to have found this blog. I too have survived a lot, even though it was mostly mental/emotional/psychological abuse and torture. I needed a reminder that there is hope in life and that I can get through this.

What say you?

