The Obituary I Would Have Written 10 Years Ago

I saw this in the news today and it tugged on my heart a bit. I feel for these adult children of an abusive mother. Had my abuser passed away 10 years ago, I might have done the same thing. The pain can be overwhelming, especially when the abuser keeps injecting themselves into your life and messing with you. This is no longer the case for me. I feel I have moved beyond where she can hurt me. She still has a way of pissing me off from time to time, but it no longer triggers me.

 

When I read this, I thought of how I was before. I understand why these folks did what they did. I hope they find closure.

I hope this finds you all well!

 

~Drew

http://gawker.com/this-brutal-obituary-is-a-reminder-to-be-good-to-your-c-1286582748

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in abuse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What say you?

