Why Modern-Day Christians Piss Me Off

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

My grandmother always claimed to be a Christian. She kept a bible on the table next to the chair she sat in. It was a red bible.

 

My grandmother wasn’t a nice woman, though you would not know it to meet her.

 

Like most Narcissists, she could be very charming.

 

But have no doubt, she was sizing you up to see how much of a sucker you are.

 

She is the reason my mother tortured me.

 

She did it to my mother, and her other 3 kids.

 

Yet, she said she was a christian.

 

It never made sense to me.

 

She had no joy, love, kindness, long-suffering.

 

She harmed and used and manipulated and spread hate and discontent.

 

She made her kids hate each other.

 

Yet, she said she was a christian.

 

Once she said the bible was true.

 

My brother asked her how she knew.

 

She answered that the bible said so.

 

Therein lies the problem, and why Christianity pisses me off.

 

Circular logic coupled with belief in infallibility results in a group that cannot be reasoned with/debated/or even have polite conversation.

 

Why?

 

‘Cuz no matter what you say, you are wrong/deluded/underSatan’sSpell/ AND are going to hell.

 

Active listening is not thinking about what you will say next. It is listening with an open/empty mind to what the other person has to say.

 
Most modern-day Christians are incapable of this.

 

Why?

 

Because they are right.

 

Why?

 

Because the bible says so.

 

Why is that correct?

 

Because it’s in the bible.

 

Circular logic.

 

Infallibility.

 

Closed minded.

 

Because you are going to hell.

 

And it doesn’t matter what you say.

 

And that pisses me off.

 

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in introspection, morality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Modern-Day Christians Piss Me Off

  1. I am a Christian, but i am sorry on behalf of most of us especially the narcissists…the father in my life and family were “Christians” too and narcissistic…i will not be them…it’s supposed to be about love not judgement and abuse, i’m still working all that out too…again sorry on behalf of most Christians.

  2. S.S. says:

    Drew, I just had an encounter with a so called Christian friend that pissed me off big time. I decided to google this just to see what would come up. I came across your post. OMG! You are speaking to me in this post directly about my own maternal grandmother! I can’t believe how much this describes what she was like EXACTLY and how she interacted with her children, all 9 of them. While it hurts to know that others have been caused pain the way pain was caused to me and others by my grandmother, I’m glad to know I’m not alone in my thinking on this. I send you warm thoughts in your healing process. I too, am healing as well.

What say you?

