Letting Go

Serenity prayer, extended version: serenity, c...

My self-esteem is directly linked to how I am progressing in my job.

I am unlinking it.

Why?

It’s bullshit and a no-win game.

What happens when your company decides to take a pass on your advancement?

What happens when your boss, whom you respect, tells you you are not cut out for a higher position?

What I do is get angry/depressed/incensed/hurt/broken.

I am unlinking it.

How?

By filling my life with things that really matter.

Like what?

Family/Spiritual/Community involvement.

Slowly.

Letting go of what I cannot change.

Serenity Prayer

Meditation

After all, just because someone says you are not something, does not mean you are not that thing. I am that thing.

Even if you like/respect that person

I am unlinking by letting go.

The company changed. Those changes excluded me. I am still gainfully employed.

I must fill my bucket and the bucket of those around me.

I must believe in myself and my ability to grow/change/do good.

I must make quality of life changes to that make me happier.

I already have.

Its making all the difference.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letting Go

  1. Marty says:

    We are not a job, a position, a king or queen, we are perfect as a true self whether we succeed in business has little influence.

    A job is something we do nothing to do with our self image at all.

    You are only responsible for trying your best. Not results.

    Why stay where you are, you are free to pick something else.

    Smile and accept rather than judge. it just is and we judge at our own risk.

    Marty

What say you?

