The Anxiety in Spain Falls Mainly in the Plain

Angry Talk (Comic Style)

In the mail yesterday I received a new counselor recommended workbook called The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Anxiety. I spent about 30 minutes today flipping through it to get an idea about the book, its principles, and its tone.

The gist of the book is similar to some work my counselor and I did earlier in the year when I wanted to get rid of some lingering anger.

The idea is this: you cannot stop having negative feelings, no matter what they are. Anger, panic, dread, depression, or PTSD will come and go, traipsing through your mind whenever the fuck they want. You cannot STOP that from happen. And frankly, why try? It’s like trying to stop a politician from lying, or the earth to stop turning….not gonna happen!

So accept it.

In reality, what we really want is a decrease in suffering from the negative emotion.

In reality, it’s how we REACT to the negative thought or emotion that makes us suffer.

Be mindful that it has arrived. Give it a name. Acknowledge that it is here. Accept that it’s here. Study it as an outsider. Then watch it leave.

I was successful with this strategy when I had  anger issues. I made it okay to get angry. I stopped being embarrassed and apologizing to those that angered me (unless of course I said something inappropriate when angry). I get angry all the time now, and let it go.

I also realized from flipping through the book, that I suffer from almost constant panic attacks, especially at work. These change in intensity like the ever-changing glow of an electric stove-top. I ride from one to another.

The last time I faced this situation, I worked a mantra into my day (I am safe).

It worked.

So, my game plan is to accept my panic attacks, and utilize a mantra.

It worked before.

Eventually, the very goal you were seeking comes about: a reduction of suffering. And with it personal power: the power to be yourself and be comfortable with who you are.

It think.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in anger, anxiety, coping, depression and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Anxiety in Spain Falls Mainly in the Plain

  1. it sounds like somatic experiencing…my panic’s name is “fred” and when i catch him which isn’t always but way more often now then the “never” of two years ago…i just say, “I hear you “fred” thank you but i’m in no immediate danger. it is what allowed me to leave the house panic free!
    geeze, i was panicked today, for no apparent reason, shaking and all and it didn’t dawn on me to do that…i should practice what i preach…lol
    oh well i painted instead, which actually did help.

    • ~Drew says:

      This saga of panic I am going through so intensely right now might be an effect of coming off the meds. I have always lived with these, but not as intensely as I am right now. It’s amazing how we forget to utilize tools we learned with combating one problem to combat another. I guess that’s job security for our therapists! Thanks for the comment!!! =)

What say you?

