Oh Yeah, I Remember This!!

English: 2D structure of SNRI-class antidepres...

English: 2D structure of SNRI-class antidepressant venlafaxine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am in the final stages of coming off Effexor, now taking 37.5 mg every 48 hours. I am on my 3rd round of 48 hours. The second round was the worse so far, contributing to my going home sick from work one day this week. I had sensations of numbness circling through my head and face. My tongue would go numb one moment, then the sensation would shift to my cheek, or ear. I got a stomach bug at the same time, so I gave in and went home and  back to bed. The next day, yesterday, I felt much better.

This stage is a wicked physical ride right now, but there is more. I am experiencing some emotions I have not felt in a while. I am now reminded why I began taking antidepressants in the first place. You see, 8 years ago, I began a new job, outside my career field. This new job entailed almost constant feedback from multiple bosses. In my former job, I was  a solitary operator, and would be evaluated from time to time. This suited me well.I like being left alone.

Under the microscope of the new job, cracks began forming in my psyche. I was not able to take in and process the constant barrage of feedback, and started dealing with depression, a lot. Instead of counseling (I had moved to a new state and had not established a counseling relationship), I asked my MD to put me on antidepressants. It worked. Those feelings went away.

They’re back!

Thankfully, I have a wonderful counselor. I have put in a call to her and will begin therapy again in a week or so, after the Memorial Day holiday is over. I am thankful that this time she is there and I can deal with this appropriately.

No more pills for ~Drew!!!!!!!

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in anti-depressant, depression, therapy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh Yeah, I Remember This!!

  1. Pingback: F*** Effexor | U Keep Walking Forward

What say you?

