AN UPdate on Stepping DOWN

I am now 5 weeks into stepping off Effexor. I am taking 1/4 the dose I was before. Last Saturday I started phase 2 (the 1/4 dose). Although I did suffer some headaches and dizziness, which are to be expected, it has been a relatively easy process so far, with no noticeable emotional problems.

I saw my MD today, and he gave me the green light to come off completely whenever I want. My game-plan going forward is to stay at this dose for another week, then start taking them every other day. The last step after that is to stop taking them altogether. I am looking at about 4 weeks till I am of my meds completely!

In promise another update as I progress! I am happy I did this under MEDICAL SUPERVISION!!! I recommend that you do the same if you are considering coming off your meds!

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in anti-depressant, depression and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to AN UPdate on Stepping DOWN

  1. i’m still in bad shape from ever having been on any, and it seems no end in sight. i have been off them all for months, but i wonder if the damage from them is done. my epilepsy is much worse as a result…i have so many seizures at night. i wish you all the best with getting off that stuff!!

  2. Pingback: This Sucks (YOU CAN DO IT!!) | U Keep Walking Forward

What say you?

