The Real Evil

The most destructive people I have ever met (and I have met a ton) have had the following:

Symptoms of this disorder include, but are not limited to:

  • Reacts to criticism with anger, shame, or humiliation
  • May take advantage of others to reach their own goal
  • Tends to exaggerate their own importance, achievements, and talents
  • Imagines unrealistic fantasies of success, beauty, power, intelligence, or romance
  • Requires constant attention and positive reinforcement from others
  • Easily becomes jealous
  • Lacks empathy and disregards the feelings of others
  • Obsessed with oneself
  • Mainly pursues selfish goals
  • Trouble keeping healthy relationships
  • Is easily hurt and rejected
  • Sets unrealistic goals
  • Wants “the best” of everything
  • Appears as tough-minded or unemotional

If this sounds familiar, then you have come in contact with NPD or Narcissistic Personality Disorder. I was raised by a parent with NPD and it seems my burden to come in contact with these people over and over. Unfortunately, they are usually a boss, or a teacher…someone in an authority figure over me. I have yet to figure out how to cope in these circumstances. People with NPD are master manipulators and seem confident and tend to get promoted quickly. Once in place, they set up levels of insulation through yes-men hierarchy to insulate themselves from their own chicanery.  They always have a scapegoat or a cleverly crafted explanation at the ready. They make fake attempts at “getting better” but revert back to NPD behaviors as soon as possible. There is no sense of right and wrong, integrity or empathy…they are not capable…thus, in my mind, they are the true evil force in the world.

Read more here.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in abuse, NPD: Narcissitic Personality Disorder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Real Evil

  1. did you see my blog on this very thing? that is my dad, and add sociapth in there too…they are very scarey! sorry you had a parent like that too…while i do see my dad as dangerous, i don’t see him as evil…i see him as and abused mentally ill person who needs help and will never get it because he doesn’t know he needs help…

  2. ~Drew says:

    I use evil for the effect they have as they interact with the world. When stepping outside my situation, I can view my mother as a tragic figure…much like Darth Vader when you see Anikkan. Knowing this does not, however, erase the damage imposed on me and others by my mother.

    e·vil
       /ˈivəl/ Show Spelled[ee-vuhl] Show IPA
    adjective
    1.
    morally wrong or bad; immoral; wicked: evil deeds; an evil life.
    2.
    harmful; injurious: evil laws.
    3.
    characterized or accompanied by misfortune or suffering; unfortunate; disastrous: to be fallen on evil days.
    4.
    due to actual or imputed bad conduct or character: an evil reputation.
    5.
    marked by anger, irritability, irascibility, etc.: He is known for his evil disposition.

What say you?

