Rocky Road and Ironside (Starring Raymond Burr)

When I was a youth,

My school sick days,

And many summer

Vacation days,

Were spent at

Grandma’s house.

 

While there, I was

Encouraged to flatline

All brain activity in front

Of the television.

 
At 12 noon everyday,

Just as Ironside

(Starring Raymond Burr)

Would come on,

My grandmother

Would bring me a bowl

Of Rocky Road ice cream.

I believe she did this

To appease me.

 

When grandmother was away,

My great-aunt was brought in.

 

She gave me “medicine”

Two hours before and after Ironside

(Starring Raymond Burr).

 

As an adult,

I figured out that this “medicine”

Was Southern Comfort~

Meant to appease me,

I am sure.

 

I have been appeased by many

Over the years,

Sex, drugs, and religion

Were every bit as effective

At placating me as

Rocky Road, Southern Comfort,

And Ironside

(Starring Raymond Burr).

 

I would often wonder,

In moments of clarity,

Why everyone was

Trying to change the

Essence of me.

 

I always wondered

What was wrong

With me.

 

Why did loved ones

React so negatively

Towards me

But say I had

A “heart of gold?”

 

What the fuck

Was wrong with me?

 

Here, after all these years,

Is the answer I have found:

I was (am) an active mind

Trapped inside an active body,

And those charged with my care

Had no patience or tolerance

For these things~

 

So, I had to be

Entertained by Ironside

(Starring Raymond Burr),

Rocky Road,

Southern Comfort,

Sex, Drugs, and Religion,

For the piece of mind

Of those around me.

 

I hope it worked out

For everyone.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry, reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rocky Road and Ironside (Starring Raymond Burr)

  1. Morning says:

    That’s life, both dark and colorful.

    vivid word painting, have fun ….

  2. lol! I LOVE THIS! the humor, the nostalgia, the memories and your repitition of Ironside (Starring Raymond Burr) is just awesome! I read it twice! I am favoriting!!! 🙂 You gotta fan here! 🙂

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/on-the-dock-where-summer-lied/

  3. ps… you remind me of my sister who too, has an active mind and body and could never sit still. we appeased her with sweets too lol! it was like ADD meds for her. She grew up still having a sweet tooth and prefers candy over a real meal any day

  4. neha says:

    adults can’t handle hyper-active kids. nice write and very humorous too 🙂

  5. crayfish says:

    Long and winding poem 🙂

  6. LifeInVerse says:

    I understand and I am so sorry.

  7. Powerful, moving, and beautifully structured. It is also very thought-provoking for a mother of two very active young boys!

What say you?

