The “I Am Your (Step)Father” Blues

I love you,

I really do.

 

Sometimes you

Love me

Back~

Other times

You barely

Tolerate my

Existence~

 

Still other times

You send all the hate

You can muster,

Past and present,

Suck the air out

Of the room

And blast me with

Hate’s power.
I did not cause

Your pain~

Circumstance did~

Yet, sometimes

I am the less

Than  Casual

Scapegoat to it.

 

I have been here

Year after year~

In your face,

An easy target

For your blame.

 

I worry about you,

I really do.

I know that you cry

At night,

Not knowing

Why.

 

I know you want

Different than you got,

And the lack of choice

In these endeavours

Sends you into a rage.

 

I love you,

I really do

And want for you

Love and stability.

What do you seek?

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The “I Am Your (Step)Father” Blues

  1. Shapeshifter says:

    Don’t know you nor do I need to. You will be the master in strength – we can only give what we give but I admire your perseverance. Continue. Great exposition. I read word, by word.

  2. Writer Jobs says:

    Great post today thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love to write? Join us today!

    Writers Wanted

  3. Lynnaima says:

    ahhh!!! loving one who’s going through pain and unable to get out. Tough situ!
    my entry: http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/as-one/

  4. I discovered your weblog internet site on google and check some of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the quite very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading far more from you later on!

  5. cute. smiles.

    Greetings:

    Hope that you have had a great Merry Christmas.

    Thanks for the delightful support along the way,

    Happy New Year.

    Share a piece of your poetry today at our poetry party today if you could.,

    Have fun!

    Sending you love and blessings.
    Cheers.

    xoxox

What say you?

