Walls

 

 

 

 

Honeycomb

"I learned to compartmentalize my life."

 

I learned to

Compartmentalize

My life

At a very

Early age.

 

I learned to make

Honeycomb in which

To deposit each pain,

To keep separate

From every other pain.

 

Little walls were built~

Geometric shapes

With volume:

Width, height, and

Length,

To hold the pieces

Of my life.

 

I learned this skill~

It kept me alive.

 

I keep it in my

Tool-belt  in case

I need a way

To stay sane.

 

It deceives me daily

Of the truth.

 

If I counted up the cells

I have created

In which to deposit

My pain,

I will know the sum

Total of my suffering~

Alas, even this number

Has been tucked away

In a vault, away from

All other truths

So as not to mingle

And cause revolt.

 

The secret vaults

Of my mind

Are what keep me

Awake at night,

Always pondering

What is tucked away

In there.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in abuse, C-PTSD, depression, introspection, poetry, reflection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Walls

  1. Summer Rain says:

    keep learning, lovely sentiments shared.

  2. They don’t keep me awake, but I do often wonder about all that is hiding in there. Very nice write!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/12/28/another-will-be-born/

  3. Heaven says:

    An interesting perspective of looking for those locked away thoughts, dreams and pains ~

    I like the use of the metaphor, honeycomb~

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.com/2011/12/still.html

  4. nice way of surviving, yet the torment, painful, sleepless nights
    nice work, happy rally!! 🙂
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/unhinged-reconstruction-meq/

  5. Snowflakes says:

    hang in there, you can survivie.

    Happy New Year.

  6. Krislin Neo says:

    The learning journey.. Hit on and bring out the choices made in a ‘no-choice’ kind of climate.. I love the emotion in it..

    Hi there, found you from the Poet Rally site..

    Oh yes, Happy New Year 2012.. Am glad to drop by your site.. Hope to see you around.. 🙂 Cheers!

What say you?

