Statement of Purpose

I am tired and my words

Are running out.

Do I have more to say

Or have all my thoughts

Been stated ad infinitum?

Oxen dragging stones

Do you wish to hear more?

 

My purpose for being

Is to convey a message

Of compassion.

Have you heard this

Message calling

To you?

 

The atrocities that

Were levied against

The child I was

Paint a grisly account

Of a tortured boy,

And his adult

Tortured soul.

 

I live with these truths~

They sit on my shoulders

As I make my way

Through this life.

They have made living

Harder that it should be.

They have taken away

Much lightness.

 

But these truths are

Not all that define me,

Though my poet’s voice

May often say different.

 

I wish to lighten

The weight on your

Shoulders and make

You smile.

That way,

We just might

Make it an extra

Mile before

You and I succumb.

 

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
Gallery | This entry was posted in abuse, C-PTSD, coping, poetry, recovery, reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What say you?

