Between My Eyes

With my eyes held

Just this way,

I can see clearly

Without the aid

Of medical

Corrective devices.

 

With my eyes this way

And my head tilted

Thusly, I can tell

When you are lying.

 

When I put out my hand

To take yours,

I can feel the repulsion

And rage you have

Hidden deep inside.

 

When you gaze at me,

Face agasp at my being,

I feel the heat of your

Hatred toward me.

 

You stand erect,

Fixed to the foundation

By your outward show

Of righteous indignation~

A cockerels breast

At the first

Sign of light.

 

The lies are what must

Be protected~

The jury is rigged;

You are blackmailing

The judge with

Evidence of his

marital indiscretions~

There’s a sniper’s

Weapon  trained

Between my eyes~

 

And you

dare speak

About what

Constitutes fair.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Between My Eyes

What say you?

