Spreading Out

The footsteps above me

Tell stories of life

Beyond my reach:

Always down below~

Always looking up~

Never to see

The horizon.

 

It is not jealousy

I feel when I imagine

Your life:

Moving back and forth

Above my crypt,

Basking beneath the

Big sky and all

It has to say.

 

The dust and clumps

Of earth from above

Rain down and cover

My shoes,

Blinding my eyes

Along the way.

 

My life

Is about

Climbing up,

Not spreading

Out.

Kapitelberget in Skien, Norway. Ruins of a cry...
About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in introspection, poetry, reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spreading Out

  1. your words bend and zig zag, beautiful expressions.

    🙂

  2. tinkwelborn says:

    and who says you can’t take it with you when you leave? LOL

    Neat perspective…reminds me of those 19th century Italian poets (brother & sister) writing about their perspectives from the other side of the turf. (Rossettis, Christina and Dante Gabriel)

    Love the catchy last stanza.

    very good piece. I enjoyed reading this.

  3. Mohana says:

    Love the closing stanza.

  4. Nel says:

    I thought of people wasting their life away when I read this – thus climbing up means living meaningfully. My two cents.

    Nicely done. 🙂

  5. chimnese says:

    the closing stanza i love, it tells me that life is bout growth nd not bout staying stuck on the same place.

  6. Jacqui BB says:

    Very interesting perspective!

  7. Bupinder Singh says:

    nice. one. u will indeed climb up..

  8. Spread your wings and discover the world around you in all his beauty and mystery and spirituality. Well done poem, loved it.

  9. I too love the last stanza–keep on putting one foot in front of the other—-

  10. shail says:

    That’s a different perspective from beneath. Good one.

What say you?

