It’s Not Coming

I asked myself

When do I get mine?

Get mine,

When do I get mine?

When does my ship

Sail through the door?

When do I get mine?

 

I don’t.

 

It’s not coming.

It’s not coming.

It’s not coming.

 

I’ve got to like

Being who I am,

Livin’ how I live,

Being who I am,

Livin’ how I live,

‘Cuz my ship’s

Not coming.

Not coming.

It’s not coming.

My ship’s not

Coming in.

 

I already have all I’m going to get.

You’ve given all you’re going to give.

It’s up to me now.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Not Coming

  1. This is really so good 🙂

  2. There’s a world of souls watching horizons
    searching for, banners and sails
    waiting
    waiting
    waiting
    and hating
    the triumphant old seafaring tales

    My eyes see the ships sailing outbound
    I watch others come in from afar –
    seeing
    seeing
    seeing
    not being
    Oh when will my ship cross the bar?

    For a moment my eyes leave the horizon
    To find I’m surrounded by sea
    leaving
    leaving
    leaving
    not believing
    My ship’s always been underneath me.

What say you?

