My Burden To Bare

I plumb the depths

And as of yet

Have not found bottom~

It seems no end

To the depths of my soul.

 

I search in earnest

For meaning for that which

Has been thrust upon me

As my burden to bare~

The "Toe Sua Ocean Trench"

Image by NeilsPhotography via Flickr

To take it off as a jacket

When I come into the warmth,

Would I choose~

Or would I?

For the suffering has forged me

Into the man I am~

Kind and able

To take it on the chin.

 

Would I remain, if I had not endured…?

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in depression, poetry, psychology, recovery, reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Burden To Bare

  1. just that italic “I” reintroduces the poem with a whole new agenda.
    In fact I would suspect that the “I” of the poem did not remain, but grew through having endured – could not have been the same for it.

  2. Quite intriguing subject , appreciate it for posting .

What say you?

