To Shelter

To begin where I left off,

So much to say,

The voices of past and pain

Waiting to be heard.

 

I shut off the tap,

Willfully,

A year ago,

And went back inside, to shelter.

 

As always, I fear for what

Remains to be spoken,

For I know not how

I will be judged.

 

This is why I hide away

For years on end

And speak in softened tones

To a friend,

 

 

But not to you.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to To Shelter

  1. Great post today thanks. I enjoyed reading it very much.

    Feel Free to Share this wonderful poem with everyone:

    – A River of Time –

  2. Very nice write. Comes across like a whisper in confidence. Well done!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/daily-encouragement-113/

  3. This speaks to me, very thought provoking one,

    🙂

  4. Mohana says:

    The last line…too good!

  5. wordcoaster says:

    Hmm, angry and sad at the same time. Poignant thoughts 🙂

  6. terri0729 says:

    Wow, too cool!! I really enjoy your poem a lot. Peace and blessings, Terri

  7. Very good writing, I love you poetry 🙂

  8. way too cool.

    love the ending line.
    Happy Rally.
    😉

  9. Cool. I shut of the tap willfully – great image!

  10. Kay Salady says:

    Excellent!

  11. shail says:

    Touched a chord. Love the way you have expressed.

    http://wordsinverse.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/raindrops/

  12. Poignant. I love the last line. Well written 🙂

  13. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

What say you?

