Soapbox: Depression

Society still stigmatizes those who suffer from depression as weak. I have recently heard stories of public service agencies and doctors outside the mental health field being ignorant of the heroic life people with depression live. It takes a brave person to face insurmountable odds every day, and still go on. The definition of bravery is: possessing or exhibiting courage or courageous endurance. Yet, when you check a box next to the word “depression” on a medical form, you are stigmatized. Those who acknowledge and work on their depression are truly courageous. I worry about the crazy bastards that have a position of authority that pretend to be an alter boy. It takes courage to face your deepest fears. We are truly in the dark ages in how society sees these people…my people.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Soapbox: Depression

  1. Jingle says:

    dear, cheer up, hang in there, everything will light up.
    love you, best regards…

    Greetings, how are you? Your absence is missed, I wish you well!
    Hope to see you in Poets Rally Week 38, find Thursday Poets Rally in the header area.

    Love your poetry talent and looking forward to a profound experience with your input.

    Cheers.
    xoxox

  2. Olivia says:

    Dear One,
    Sorry, for having been missing!

    I know this. I too am keeping depressed with the things going on at my end!
    I know this just too well..

    All I can say is- ignore how you did when fighting out.. 🙂
    Mega Hugs xoxox

  3. ~Drew says:

    My own battle with depression has been successful in the past 18 months. I was blessed with an angel coming into my life when I needed it most: a counselor that understood the depths to which my illness had taken me. She guided my along my own path to find my own way. I have not needed further guidance since, for the tools I learned have been adequate to keep me level minded. Still, I am epithetic to the struggles of those around me. We know our kind.

    Thank you for the kind words.

    ~Keep Walking

  4. When i know someone is depressed, my first thought tends to be, “what has happened to them, they must have a story”

What say you?

