You Assure Me

This poem is dedicated to S.E. the “YOU” of this poem. Thank you for your assurance, it meant more than you could ever know!


You assure me it will be okay,
So I step one foot onto the
Icy embankment~trepidation
Overwhelming me as my
Foray onto the slippery slope
Begins.

You assure me I will be safe
Regardless of the hundreds of
Feet drop to my right~”there
Is no other way around.
We must move forward.” My
Second step lands, digging
A foot-hold, on your suggestion.
I did not bring the correct shoes
And I feel regret as I lift
My hind leg to land the third.

You assure me again that
I will make it across as
I drop to my knees, panicked.
I have never been here before~
Never been pushed to fight through
The fear you assure me I can overcome.

As I land one foot on solid ground,
Then the other, I fall down in shock’s release,
Allowing the full weight of my
Terror to encompass me~no need
To fight it back now. You assure
Me that I have succeeded where others
Have failed (I look for the bodies below),
And bolster my faith in myself.

As I move through life, I
Can hear you assuring me
That I can make it across
Life’s embankments.
And I shall.

~Keep Walking

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in encouragement, poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What say you?

