Silence

The explosion was more
Destructive than I
Ever imagine possible.
I laid the groundwork
For months~calculating
Your weakest fissures~
Laying lines~emotional
Blasting caps~
A metaphorical dream
Of destruction.
I lay awake at night
Dreaming of the moment
The ignition was lit~
Down the cord to its
Inevitable end~moments
Of breathless waiting~
Knowing full well you
Would be destroyed
In a moment.
In that instant~the flash,
The bang~the mangled
Metal of your structures
Came apart~Shrapnel~
Smoke~Bang~Blast
Destruction~
Then silence.
Much more than I
Imagined~nothing left
Of your psyche~silence~
My heart palpitating~
Weight of success and
Consequences~Cause~
Effect~Silence
And you left with a
Prominent hole in
Your soul~Oh to be you
When the vengeance came
Knocking.

Now, I weep for your pain.
The crushing guilt of my
Shame~back-blast from
The blasting caps~shrapnel
Lodged in my heart.
One such as me
Judging you~choosing
Punishment~
Silence.

~Keep Walking

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What say you?

