See Me

How you see me matters

As we are locked in this turn-style

Pushing~being chased~

Exits a mere second to escape~

Two opposing portals

That take us away from

Each other.

 

How you see me matters

As we stroll hand-in-hand

Along the muddy banks of

The Mississippi~smells of

Decay and chicory waft

As we slowly turn toward

The French Quarter.

 

How you see me matters

When you whisper to others

About the state I’m in~the

Self-objectivity I cannot grasp~

When I don’t elucidate

My intentions.

 

How you see me matters

Because I RespectLoveTrust

You and want to be strong

For you while I am standing

On shifting desert sands~

Holding on for my life~

Making amends for

Unintended outcomes.

 

How you see me matters,

Even when I act as if it doesn’t.

 

 

 

~Keep Walking

 

 

[This poem has been entered in the Monday Poetry Potluck on Jingle Poetry.]

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in introspection, poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to See Me

  1. fiveloaf says:

    realistic and down to earth!

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 33 (November 18-24) | Jingle

  3. Jingle says:

    lovely wonders…

    thanks for the FULL support of potluck poetry.
    claim awards on #160 entry of week 10…
    have fun!

    let me know if you wish to be part of poets Rally week 33.

  4. ‘You and want to be strong
    For you while I am standing’
    ‘Making amends for
    Unintended outcomes.’
    These lines speak volumes of love, trust and respect.
    Beautiful poem.

  5. Shawn Bird says:

    very powerful words- kind of fits with some of my work in the last month (She’s Gone for example)

    Thanks for visiting my blog and including this link! Here’s my latest poetical offering- a tanka for the season…
    http://shawnbird.com/2010/11/21/winter-evening-tanka/

What say you?

