A Search For Mindfulness

Autumn Stream

I would live in the now,
I really would,
If the barking dogs
Of the past were not
Usurping what I hear.

If I could quiet the past,
I would take in the sweet
Aromas of this fall day,
And laugh at the folly
Of living through past
Events, especially on
A day like today.

To quiet myself~
To really quiet myself~
Is a wish gone unfulfilled;
I wait for a reprieve~
It is my life’s quest
To find out how
To quiet myself.

I am never more calm
Then when I am underwater
And all my senses are
Dulled for those brief
Seconds before my lungs
Remind me that I must
Surface to face my restless
Mind and to breathe.

~Keep Walking

 

 

Check Out Jingle’s Poetry Potluck

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in coping, depression, introspection, poetry, recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Search For Mindfulness

  1. bward42 says:

    Beautiful! I know how you feel, sometimes baggage just piles up and blocks our perception.. Reminds me of a poem I once wrote…

  2. A.B. Thomas says:

    nicely put, I like the contrast of submerging and walking

  3. gospelwriter says:

    This really is beautiful – yes, if only we could quiet the mind, how lovely would be our todays. Wonderful photo as well.

  4. nice piece. i relate to felling peace under water… great job!

  5. Jingle says:

    smart piece,
    keep searching…
    peace, joy, and satisfaction with you.
    Thanks for linking up with potluck.
    you rock.

  6. The water can bring peace, especially to a soul in turmoil. Beautiful words!

  7. ‘I would live in the now,
    I really would,
    If the barking dogs
    Of the past were not
    Usurping what I hear.’
    This lines reflect the lives of many people. We often tend to reflect upon the past which is out of our grasp and forget the present which is within our grasp. Awesome poem.

    http://wordsworthmillions.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/spring-in-my-heart/
    http://wordsworthmillions.wordpress.com/2010/05/01/cold-night/

  8. 700miles says:

    life is a heavy load to bear…. peace… 700

What say you?

