Alone (in a manner of speaking)

I sit alone on this bench

And watch you go by~

At this moment,

I have no interaction

With the world,

And the world marches

On without my consent.

 

From my perch~the

Bite of the cold on my skin

Bites you too~

We are involved somehow,

You and I in this

Moment, without intent.

 

Each breath contains

A greater percentage of

My death breath. I

Want to do well by

You~I wish you

Happiness in this

Moment we have shared,

In this time we have spent~

 

Alone, in a manner of speaking.

 

Submitted to Poetry Potluck

 

~Keep Walking

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Alone (in a manner of speaking)

  1. Very much enjoyed the way you frame your subject in the reactions of the characters to the narrators POV. While the theme has its dark elements, your clarity of purpose shows through. Thanks for posting, most enjoyable read.

    crb.

  2. Scent of my heart says:

    So deep! Alone, but alone with great meaning to share!

  3. Luke Prater says:

    Like Caribbean Fool, I found the clarity shining thru the darkness you convey in the Narrative. There was beauty right through this piece, and the line-breaking came at just the right places. I needed those pauses, for breath, to slow me down.

    Enjoyed; nicely-written piece

    Luke @ WordSalad

    (mine are here –
    http://wp.me/pTeVg-cx
    http://wp.me/pTeVg-cP

  4. Jingle says:

    excellent work…
    I am tickled to see you linking in with us.
    http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/my-sister-lives-too-far-away/

    here is one of my entries,
    a poetry award 4 you and thank you for your support on week 9 potluck fun.
    Enjoy!
    xxx

  5. Jessicas Japes says:

    I found that very moving. A lovely choice of words and phrases!

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/my-fortress/

  6. thisistalon says:

    Alone in a manner of speaking, but never truly.

    Really intriguing poem.

  7. Olivia says:

    Some magical way with words Drew.. 🙂
    A story told, little sad and little brave.. It takes a lot to hold on alone..!!

    Hugs xx

What say you?

