Stand Tall

There is strength in numbers-

Many alone sleep, alone wake, alone

Take on the day, surrounded by love.

 

I can trust you, yes? I can

Trust me alone–my mind

Lies and lays a snare of which I

Cannot break free.

 

Generation after generation of families

Full of politicos rallying for

Domination over destiny.

 

My destiny has been defined by

The struggle to overcome the

Entrapment of family and mind.

 

There are days I stand tall

Against the wind’s force–

And others I am toppled by your whisper.

 

Life is a misery of mystery

Of love and peace and struggle and love.

 

 

~Keep Walking

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Stand Tall

  1. In Buddhism we believe our lives will be better if we can live without attachment to the world around us and that if we can control our mind, our sufferings will be less.
    Life is indeed a mystery. Beautiful poem. Cheers.

  2. Drew says:

    Isn’t that the truth… and the struggle I have is finding ways to become unattached … thanks for commenting!

    ~Drew

  3. Jingle says:

    love the last line, well put.

  4. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participants… | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  5. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 (November 4-10) | Jingle

  6. Jingle says:

    u r so kind…
    welcome in.
    have fun looking around.

    xxx

  7. Mase Da Rula says:

    Well I must say I enjoyed the read

    .Mase Da Rula.
    A Ruler’s Kingdom
    http://dieselfromthad.wordpress.com

  8. the structure worked great to force the tongue to follow your intent. i enjoyed the theme of family in it…

  9. beautiful theme and well structured verses.. its a really nice poem.. enjoyed the read…!

    My Rally Entry

  10. Pingback: Gedankenblitze « one sky, one destiny

  11. yuuki-chan says:

    There are days I stand tall
    Against the wind’s force–
    And others I am toppled by your whisper.

    Woah. I can feel the undercurrent of power in those words. Beautiful. 🙂

    Yuuki-chan:
    http://sugaryichigo.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/gedankenblitze/

  12. B says:

    I enjoyed this one hun.
    What can be more mysterious than life right?

    HAPPY RALLY!

    Oh, here’s my share!
    YOU

    Thanks!

    LOVE,
    B
    thisisbrixx.wordpress.com

  13. tasithoughts says:

    Wow! Loved how you captured life perfectly well for many of us. Keep up your marvelous writing!

    JP

    http://tasithoughts.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/soaring/

  14. bward42 says:

    Viva la Revolution! I like your spirit in this poem; struggle, and maybe someday things will get better!

  15. LoLa says:

    i love the idea of being toppled over by a whisper, that is so hot.
    nice job

  16. This is lovely. I can see from your tag cloud that you are struggling and I wish you all the best. The lines that truly stand out for me were:

    My destiny has been defined by

    The struggle to overcome the

    Entrapment of family and mind.

    My own struggle has centered around this.

    Regards … D.

  17. Malcolm McLachlan says:

    Strength and frailty almost in a single breath, a wonderful juxtaposition.

  18. likewine says:

    I absolutely absolutely love this. I love it. I kept re-reading it. How utterly simple and utterly profound. GREAT work.

  19. belladonna23 says:

    keep it up. sometimes standing tall is the best we can do

  20. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participation Awards | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  21. Pingback: Wow, These Are Rare Talents In Poetry….Rally Week 32 Highlight | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  22. likewine says:

    Yes for sure, keep walking. We can, I think, all relate to that. Lovely.

  23. fillingahole says:

    Well written.
    Lots of goodness.

  24. ashbeezone says:

    Nice thought buddy
    Take a look on my poetry pal
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/examination/
    Hope you like it 😉

What say you?

