I Just Don’t Know

What is true and what is just

Is hidden from my eyes

By a perception that only

Perceives what it can perceive.

 

Where I miss the most is

In those spots where the demons

Inside lie-in-wait for my

Weakest moment to come.

 

How can I see what I cannot

Perceive to be a reality shared

By no one, in the midst of

The life no one leaves behind?

 

What wake do I leave

As I journey to the end,

Treading lightly, alighting softly

And spreading words

I perceive as true and just?

 

I Just Don’t Know.

 

 

~Keep Walking

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Just Don’t Know

  1. Drew, welcome to Poets United!

    What I valued most about this poem was the demons lying in wait for your weakest moment. It’s a universal truth – and a constant battle. It’s called The World vs. Your Better Self, or better angels, if you are so inclined.

    I’m a Tolkien fan, so that resonates for me as well.
    Great work! Amy Barlow Liberatore

  2. Drew says:

    Amy..Thanks for reading! Thanks for the comments. It is very much appreciated! ~Drew

  3. Olivia says:

    Very well written.. Sharp and powerful.. 🙂

  4. Olivia says:

    Glad to read you today, hope all is well in your blogging or poetry writing agenda.
    We treasure your input and would be delighted to see you at our potluck again this coming Monday.
    Any poem is acceptable, simply link in and share…
    Let me know if you need further assistance.
    Keep writing, Keep inspiring!
    xoxox

  5. ~Drew says:

    Thanks Olivia… you are the one that brought me to Jingle Poetry, and for that I am forever grateful. For 30 years I have written alone.. publishing only for myself… reminders of Emily Dickinson; Yet, I do not want to be found dead with piles of poetry around for the world to categorize as Poem 101… Thanks for helping me come out of isolation and begin to embrace the blogosphere!

What say you?

