The Devil I Know

There are no demons,
There is no hell,
Evil lives in man
And good is losing ground.

The Devil I know
Has looked in my eyes,
And turned my resolve
Into a manageable mound.

The bad in the world,
Has many a source:
A Mans face,
Or a Woman’s Curse.

Try as we might,
Good is losing wars,
Evil has taken hold
And has children to nurse.

~Keep Walking

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Devil I Know

  1. Jessicas Japes says:

    Interesting – if a little depressing! There’s always hope, remember!

  2. Thought provoking and very true thoughts.
    ‘Good is losing wars,
    Evil has taken hold
    And has children to nurse.’ Liked these lines very much.
    Happy Halloween.

    http://wordsworthmillions.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/halloween-payback/

  3. Jingle says:

    lovely word flow…

    The bad in the world,
    Has many a source:
    A Mans face,
    Or a Woman’s Curse….

    powerful and witty words.,

  4. Wow, thought provoking. Well done!

  5. fiveloaf says:

    yea- keep walking and dont look back!

  6. Eric says:

    Walking while blindfolded, with hands cupped over our ears, chanting “La-la-la-la! I cannot hear you! La-la-la-la!” Nice Potluck entry, Drew.

  7. frayedges says:

    Couldn’t have said it better.

  8. Kelly Hay says:

    Very interesting!

  9. Jingle says:

    Please help giving (belated) birthday wishes to 3 or 4 fellow poets:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/happy-birthday-eric-dom/

    Thanks a lot for the support.
    Happy November!
    Your presence adds light to our space, keep shining!
    xxx

  10. Olivia says:

    Very well done Drew- this is just the reality.. very well captured through words.. May I say- Keep Writing..

    Loads of wishes xox

What say you?

