Patterns

 

blood, human, splatter, drops

Image via Wikipedia

 

Sometimes the words are not forthcoming when the urge to express is so weighing upon me. In those moments, sometimes I push through the moment and a poem comes anyway. For an artist with depression, these moments are agonizing.

I only write because I am
Tired and too weak to resist;
Otherwise I would push
The swollen part of myself
Back down to the core of me
And let it marinate,
Waiting for the sweet air
Of expression to connect
With it, allowing the fully
Flavored pain to explode onto
Paper, soaking through
Layer after layer as
The pen presses harder
Against the resisting desk,
Trying to break it apart
With frenzied stabs
And strokes.
I pull the pen back,
Dip it in the
Pure oxygenated blood of my heart, and let
It drip across
The page in random patterns.
(Dedicated to Gary Snyder)

~Keep Walking


About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in coping, depression, poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Patterns

  1. Jingle says:

    fabulous write…
    love the pen dip in the oxygenated blood of my heart idea.
    brilliant and entertaining.

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 31 (October 21-27) | Jingle

  3. gospelwriter says:

    I identify strongly with the gist of what you say. The poem is beautifully written, the imagery striking (as is the visual image); and especially I loved the ending:

    I pull the pen back,
    Dip it in the
    Pure oxygenated blood of my heart, and let
    It drip across
    The page in random patterns.

    Thank you.

  4. What a great poem, thank you for sharing.

  5. Wow…What an image your words painted here…”Marinate”…I love that word…and your body marinates in the flavor of pain?…crazy thought…

    Nice work, Cheers!

  6. Powerful words, I enjoyed this!

  7. kyoichi says:

    it’s vivid. it made my heart pound. maybe it’s just me since i get uneasy when i see blood.

    good job on this =]

    -kyogakura

  8. ladynimue says:

    story of each poet and writer !! Brilliantly done !

  9. dandylion28 says:

    Beautiful! excellently penned!

What say you?

