Heros

Those who live with the crippling effects of depression are nothing short of heros. I know it doesn’t feel that way. I often feel like if I was just stronger, I would not be such a basket case. I beat myself up for not having control over my depression. This, of course, makes my depression cycle deepen.

But the truth is, living with depression is an heroic journey. One of putting one foot in front of the other… walking forward no matter what (I picture a person in a parka leaning into the winds of the tundra struggling to move forward against the blasting of the freezing gail-force winds). The proof of this struggle is that we are still here! You and I.

A wise counselor once said… “living with depression is like living with diabetes. You will have to treat it for the rest of your life.” This was enlightening for me. Do people with diabetes think they could overcome their illness of they were stronger? Of course not.

Love yourself today.

I found a great blog… please check it out. It brought me comfort.

About ~Drew

I am a survivor of childhood torture. Each day, I put one foot in front of the other, moving forward. To do any less would spell my own destruction. My music/poetry/prose deal with the devastating effect of this kind of abuse on a human being: me. My experiences/thoughts/ideas/misconceptions are exposed here for all to see. Here. I am lain bare, naked, hidden only be the cloak of anonymity.
This entry was posted in coping, depression, psychology, ptsd, recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What say you?

